Here's the skinny on how to get a Louisiana Marriage License in New Orleans, including requirements, needed documents, time limits, and judicial waivers of some requirements. You can get a license in any parish and it is good throughout the state for 30 days.
Time Required: varies
- Certified copies of birth certificates or waivers are required for both parties, as well as current picture IDs such as a driver's license, state ID or passport. Get certified copies of each party's birth certificate/card if both were born in Louisiana. If either was born out of state, a waiver may be substituted. If either was born out of the country, a passport, naturalization papers, or green card is also needed.
- If either party is divorced, get a certified copy of the final divorce decree. If either is widowed, get a certified copy of the death certificate.
- Know or bring the Social Security Number, birth dates & places of parties, the names of the parents (including mothers' maiden names) of each party. (No documentation necessary)
- Both parties must complete a marriage license application.
- If either is under 18 years old but more than 16 years old, then the written consent of both parents OR an order from a juvenile court judge is required. If between 14 and 16, the consent and juvenile court judge order are both required. (Does this ever happen nowadays?)
- At least one party must apply in person for the license and bring bring all the documents and information required, as well as $27.50 (in New Orleans - varies by parish) for the marriage license fee.
- Generally there is a 72-hour waiting period after applying for a marriage license. However, a district judge or justice of the peace may wait this requirement. I've heard that it is not difficult to find a judge to waive the waiting period, and is a fairly common practice on Valentine's Day. Tourists in are now encouraged to have a quickie wedding in New Orleans. There is effectively no waiting period for out-of-towers only and only in New Orleans.
- In New Orleans (Orleans Parish), apply at 1010 Common St., Suite 1245, downtown (9 am - 3:30 pm, M - F) OR 225 Morgan St., Rm 201, Algiers (9 am - 3 pm, M - F). Supposedly, licenses were to be available for those New Orleans tourist quickie weddings on Saturdays, but if so the office isn't listing it.
- A Louisiana marriage license is valid for 30 days anywhere in Louisiana no matter where is was issued.
- It's suggested that newlyweds order a certified copy of the their license a couple of weeks after the wedding to make sure that their license was properly recorded.
- Louisiana also has a covenant marriage option that's harder to get and harder to get out of. It limits marriage termination to specified fault grounds. There are additional requirements for a covenant marriage license includeing notarized intent statements and counseling.
What You Need
- A future spouse of the opposite sex (La. law doesn't allow same-sex marraiges.)
- Sufficient time on earth &/or age waivers for each party
- Certified documents and/or waivers
- Required picture I.D.'s
- Social Security Numbers and information about parents, birthplace, etc.
- Filled out forms by each party & $27.50